President Graça: "What a fantastic team effort we saw this weekend"


Poland defeated Korea to claim victory in the World Grand Prix Group 2 Finals last weekend. The Group 1 Finals take place in Nanjing, China this week from August 2 to 6.

Lausanne, Switzerland, August 3, 2017 - "What a fantastic team effort we saw this weekend as Poland overpowered Korea in straight sets to become 2017 FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix Group 2 Champions," said FIVB President Dr. Ary S. Graça F°.

"The Korean team had shown great spirit in their semifinal victory over Germany, particularly Yeon Koung Kim who scored 29 points in the match. However it was world class blocking that gave Poland an advantage in the final, handing the team the title as well as their first victory over Korea since 2012."

Quick links - Volleyball:
FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix
FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix - Schedule
FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix - Teams - Volleyball
Latest Videos
Media Guides

"In the bronze medal match Germany beat hosts Czech Republic as Louisa Lippmann took control with a 26 point performance, including three aces. It was a wonderful bounce-back performance for Germany, who also had to beat the home crowd as well as their opposition on the court!"

"A total of 682 points were scored across all four games, and my thanks go to the Czech Volleyball Federation (CEV) for organising such a great tournament in Ostrava. The fans really do make these events so special and it was brilliant to see the crowds engaged and excited. The FIVB is intent on moving from fan entertainment to fan engagement, and through these lively atmospheres, we can continue to provide the very best experiences for spectators."

"We now look forward to the last weekend of the 2017 FIVB World Grand Prix as the Group 1 Finals bring this year’s tournament to a close. It has been another fantastic tournament and now just remains to be seen who will triumph. Six teams are still chasing their dream of becoming FIVB 2017 World Grand Prix Group 1 Champion, and I wish Serbia, the USA, Brazil, Italy, the Netherlands and hosts China the very best of luck in Nanjing."


All the News