Group 2 Finals


Ostrava, Czech Republic - July 29-30, 2017

Host country: Czech Republic


The FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix Group 2 Finals in the city of Ostrava in the Czech Republic will feature four teams from July 29 to 30.

The country will host several FIVB events in 2017, also including the FIVB Volleyball Men’s U21 World Championship in Brno and Ceske Budejovice.

The Czech Republic has a proud history of staging major events and served as the venue for the first ever Volleyball World Championship in 1949. It also regularly finished on the podium at the first six World Championships for men. The women’s team has also won a number of medals, including gold at the European Championship in 1955 and bronze at the World Championships in 1952 and 1960.

Host city: Ostrava


The city of Ostrava was nominated European City of Sport in 2014 after it hosted a wide variety of sports events. It has a rich tradition of sport at all levels and is renowned for its modern sports facilities. 

This year, Ostrava will play hosts to the Czech Republic women’s national team when they welcome the top three teams from the Group 2 Preliminary Round which this year also includes Argentina, Bulgaria, Canada, Germany, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Korea, Peru, Poland, Puerto Rico and 2016 Group 3 winners Croatia.

The Czech Republic will be participating in their fifth consecutive World Grand Prix since they first joined the premier annual women’s tournament in 2013.


All the News