Czech Republic to host World Grand Prix Group 2 Finals


The Czech Republic will play hosts to the World Grand Prix Group 2 Finals in 2017

Lausanne, Switzerland, November 16, 2016 - The FIVB is pleased to announce that the Czech Republic will host the FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix Group 2 Finals in 2017 - with the three cities of Brno, Liberec and Ostrava in contention to organise the event. The Group 2 Finals will feature four teams, including the event hosts, competing from July 28 to 30.

Quick links - Volleyball: - Volleyball
Latest Videos
Media Guides
FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix 2017
FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix 2016

FIVB President Dr. Ary Graça S. F° said: “I look forward to a great event when the Czech Republic welcomes the 2017 FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix Group 2 Finals in July. I would like to thank the Czech federation who will host several FIVB events in 2017, also including the FIVB Volleyball Men’s U21 World Championship, for their outstanding commitment to the promotion of these key events.”

“We are very pleased to welcome and organise the international volleyball event of the prestigious World Grand Prix Group 2 Finals in the Czech Republic. We will do our best to prepare a great tournament for all participants,” said Czech Volleyball Federation President Dr. Zdenek Hanik.

The 2017 edition of the International Volleyball Federation's blue riband competition for women's national teams will feature a record number of participants, with a total of 32 countries participating in the annual tournament for the first time. The Preliminary Round will take place over three weeks including July 7 to 9, July 14 to 16 and July 21 to 23. It will be followed by the Group 3 Finals from July 22 to 23 (at a venue to be confirmed), the Group 2 Finals from July 28 to 30 and the Group 1 Finals from August 2 to 6 (at a venue to be confirmed).

In Group 2, the top three teams from the Preliminary Round's combined standings will join the hosts for the Finals. The twelve teams competing in World Grand Prix Group 2 in 2017 will be: Argentina, Bulgaria, Canada, Group 2 Finals hosts the Czech Republic, Germany, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Korea, Peru, Poland, Puerto Rico and 2016 Group 3 winners Croatia.

FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix Group 2 hosts
2017: Czech Republic
2016: Varna, Bulgaria
2015: Lublin, Poland
2014: Kozalin, Poland


All the News